The University of Nairobi, a world class University committed to scholarly excellence engages highly qualified and motivated teaching staff to realize its mission and vision. The University of Nairobi, a body corporate established under the Universities Act 2012 of the laws of Kenya and the University of Nairobi Charter, is the pioneer institution of University education in Kenya and the region.
The Vision of the University is to be a world-class university committed to scholarly excellence. The Mission is to provide quality university education and training and to embody the aspirations of the Kenyan people and the global community through creation, preservation, integration, transmission and utilization of knowledge.
The University Faculty comprises of Professors, Associate Professors, Senior Lecturers, Lectures, Tutorial Fellows and Graduate Assistants. The appointment of teaching staff is based on Commission for University Education Universities Standards and Guidelines, 2014.  
The Faculty are compensated through basic salary and assorted allowances. The employer pension component is at 20% of basic salary. Salaries and house allowances for teaching staff in public universities is negotiated between the Inter Public Universities Councils Consultative Forum (IPUCCF) of the Federation of Kenya Employers and Universities Academic Staff Union (UASU) and reviewed every four years. Other allowances are negotiated between the respective Universities Councils and UASU Local Chapters.